Books

2020 New Titles – August 21

The Glowing by Tom Rimer

Nice guys often finish last, but sometimes last is all that’s left. Majestic Mount Greylock always cloaked the small berkshire town of Adams in its shadow…until now. Until the skies illuminated. Until the Glowing began. When Kamryn Coe, her disheveled teacher, and a group of geeks that’d put a comic convention to shame witness the destruction of their hometown, they must combat a land teeming with drooling alien hordes, while Kam faces the truth of her own birth and its connection to the catastrophe unfolding around her. Time travel, extraterrestrials, humanity’s end.

TIME TO SAVE THE WORLD.

Buy the Book: https://shadowsparkpub.com/tomrimer

Tom’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/RimerTom

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Deceitful Evening by Vinisha Panwar

If your love turned out to be the most dangerous part of your life….What would you do to survive?

Three ladies, one guy and a gripping drama of dangerous romance. Here are the characters,

NEERJA – (A corporate employee: a loner, running away from her crazy past to find a new support system in a new city)
AARTI – (A police officer: self made personality with major difficulty in embracing emotions)
RAJESH – (A businessman: a mysterious guy, looking to expand his business in a new city with secrets buried in his heart)
AVNI – (A college girl: a vibrant soul and a free spirit)

Neerja has moved to a new city for a fresh start. In the city, she has attracted someone’s eyes to build up a steamy romance. Being surrounded by two new personalities (Avni, her young vibrant flat mate and Aarti, her landlord who is a police officer), she ends up discovering a dangerous side of her new world. Everyone was living with a grave secret inside. With Rajesh, comes a drastic turn when secrets couldn’t hide anymore.

Once secrets were revealed, a normal event turned out to be a freakish display of life & death. Could Neerja’s love stand the test of time? Who will manage to survive in the end?

A mysterious short story, an extreme romantic delight with moments of life & death.

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B088VWYX4Y?ref_=pe_3052080_276849420

Vinisha’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/readersvalley

Lust in the Stacks by Natalie Falkenwrath

In this library, the books aren’t the only thing worth checking out… Alex has a job she likes, doing tech support at Cowling University, and a beautiful – if difficult – girlfriend, Jasmine. Life is good. That is until Alex’s boss reassigns her to work in the university’s saddest little library. Alex feels like she’s been banished to a stuffy, quiet hell. Then Alex meets Cait, a living definition of ‘sexy librarian.’ She’s hot, smart, and her accent is to die for. But Alex has a girlfriend she loves and a job to get done. When the library pushes back on the system updates Alex was sent to implement, Alex must work closely with Cait to find a solution. Can Alex stay professional and maintain her relationship with Jasmine while working side-by-side with the alluring librarian?

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/1952057000

Natalie’s Website: https://www.nataliefalkenwrath.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is Gold and Steel by Darklord Swashbuckler

Two colonies orbit an ancient star. On Boskia, a young warrior named Darklord embarks on his first mission. Before he knows it, he is traveling to the sister world, Tharnia, a world ruled by women who have decided technology makes males obsolete. What he discovers about their world, and his own, may change the destiny of both, and, perhaps, save both.

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083WN98LC

Darklord’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/DarklordSwashb1

What May Rise from the Ashes by Susanne Schmidt

Ofronia Mills is far too old to retire. She has spent all her life as a librarian, and when Grand-Director Lorn Van Shipplestorm threatens not only her job, but the integrity of the library itself, she has no choice but to act. Evading her boss and Tess Dingly, it-girl and reluctant librarian apprentice, Ofronia descends into the library’s forgotten fourth basement, which once housed the collection of magic books.


While Van Shipplestorm plots to bar the general populace from even entering the hallowed halls, Ofronia must decide what to do with what she finds. Will she entrust her fate to magic, although she once refused to learn anything about it? Or will she walk away quietly, like she has done all her life?

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.com/What-Rise-Ashes-Susanne-Schmidt-ebook/dp/B08599K2LV/

Susanne’s Website: https://susanneschmidt.me/ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gravity's Heir by Sara Bond

“Legacy is nothing but history, if it doesn’t have a future.”

When her father threw her out, sacrificing his only living daughter for the good of his shipping conglomerate, Lena Lomasky swore she could make it on her own. But now she’s broke and desperate, and pride won’t fuel her spaceship. Her latest job is simple: carry a datastick of state secrets home to her father. The same man who cut her off without a cent. Whatever. She can do this. Pass the whiskey.

An ill-timed royal assassination ignites a war and Lena’s crew is blamed. When she thinks to use her cache of state secrets to save them, Lena discovers she’s actually smuggling the only known plans for her father’s invention: a gravity bomb that can vaporize entire cities.

Lena must decide: continue on and hope her father can design a defense to save millions of lives, or leverage the plans to save the only people who really matter.

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B084HLKVNJ/

Sara’s Website: https://www.saratbond.com/

Porphyry & Blood by Peter Sandham

1462.

The Republic of Venice.

Nine years on from surviving the fall of Constantinople, Anna Notaras now lives an empty life of luxury on the lagoon.

But the Ottoman empire has not ceased its relentless expansion and now Sultan Mehmed plans the conquest of Italy – and to stable his horses in St Peter’s Basilica.

When the Venetian Senate ask Anna to help stop her old Turk enemies, she quickly agrees. The mission seems simple: join an embassy to Wallachia to cement an alliance. But there is nothing straight forward about the ruler Anna is to meet: Vlad Dracula.

Moreover, Anna’s status among her fellow Byzantine refugees is built upon a lie, and not everyone among her travelling party has Anna’s best interests at heart.

Worse still, Anna’s embassy is not the only group heading for Dracula. A Turk army is closing in, intent on placing Vlad’s brother on the Wallachian throne.

Caught in a bloody web of intrigue, Anna will need the same wit and courage that allowed her to survive Constantinople if she is to return from her mission alive.

Recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Dorothy Dunnett and Michael Jecks.

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.com/Porphyry-Blood-Novels-Peter-Sandham/dp/B088VRPRWQ

Peter’s Blog: http://porphyryand.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vampire Blood & Iron Bullets by Lily Luchesi

One vampire. One Fae. Countless assassins. Challenge accepted.

Energy vampires make excellent rock stars. Changelings make excellent actors. It’s been that way since time out of mind, and the best way to discover an actor is a changeling? Look at the awards they haven’t won.
Perry Gold is one of the most brilliant changeling actors out there, and one award has always eluded him. Until now. And now that’s he’s won it, he’s a wanted man on a hunter’s hit list. As a celebrity, he can’t run forever. He needs the type of protection only a vampire can provide.
If the world’s most successful special agent Angelica Cross can’t save him, no one can.

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B0848KTMN9

Lily’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/LilyLuchesi

 

Unholy bu Austin Valenzuela

Lord Jericho, the leader of the church of St. Damascus, trains students in the art of killing dragons and harnessing their magic.

Unholy tells the story of a boy named Isaac, a student of the church, as he is called to perform his final test of the year. For the last five years, Isaac has gone against the ways of the Lord and refused to sacrifice the sacred creatures his father had always taught him to love.

He doesn’t belong.

But when test day comes around, Isaac finally gives in to the pressure and sacrifices an innocent peach-colored dragon in front of the class.

Appalled with himself and bullied by the others for caring, Isaac seeks redemption by breaking Lord Jericho’s most important rule—never leave church grounds—and he stumbles into an adventure that will change his view of dragons forever.

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.com/Unholy-Gothic-Fantasy-Austin-Valenzuela-ebook/dp/B08DVDG7ZD/

Austin’s Website: https://www.austinvalenzuela.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slumberland by Derra Nicole Sabo

How do you dream? Are your dreams in color or black ‘n white? Do they feel surreal or all too real?Well, I’d like to introduce you to my little slice of bittersweet. These subconscious woods hold every fear and my anxieties masked are as wolves. Nightmares that play on a loop for weeks, even months at a time. Symptoms of waking in cold sweats and shaking. The only moments of peace are found in the sporadically studded dreams that happen every now and again. These woods house every past demon as well as certain past versions of who I once was. This place is worse than death, yet it inspires. So……Before my alarm goes off, before I take the last train out of here, I take one last glance back, one last glance at all of the Polaroids, pinned to every tree branch, Polaroids of every dream and nightmare that have stolen my nights since ’95……These dreams…these woods…this place…it’s my upside-down. This is my Slumberland…

Buy the Book: https://www.amazon.com/Slumberland-Derra-Nicole-Sabo/dp/1949798585/

Derra’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/derra_nic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *